itssnotthetruth

Keeping it real

A Whole New World July 30, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — It's Snot the Truth @ 10:01 PM

I realize it has been a while since I last posted anything.  I thought many times that I needed to write an entry, to update you, to include you, or to vent to you.  Now I really have a lot to say.  Tomorrow marks 5 months until my 30th birthday (and L’s birthday!).  When I started this blog, I used my 30th birthday as my deadline of sorts.  Let’s review:
Goal #1: Run 2 5k races during the year.  As you recall, I ran my first 5k on April 14th.  My running slacked at the beginning of the summer, but I’m starting to get back into it.  I’m looking for my next 5k.  I’m hoping my sisters and/or friends will join me for this.

 

Goal#2: Weigh 150 pounds.  Ok, I’m constantly struggling with this goal.  Whoever thought losing weight over the summer was a great idea, is insane.  (After you read Goal #3 this will make sense) After all this craziness calms down, GAME ON!!!!

 

Goal #3: Organize my house.  In a bizarre string of events, Matt, Annie, and I are moving.  Since December we have been talking about moving; one day we were, then the next week, we weren’t.  When we went on vacation earlier this month, we laid everything on the table to decide finally.  Ultimately, it just wasn’t going to be in the cards for us, not right now.  Less than a week later, we learned that we had an opportunity to move that we’d be crazy to pass up.  A week later, we decided we would put our house on the market by the end of August.  That was 10 days ago.  Matt has been home for 72 hours since we made that decision.  I have been a cleaning machine.  We have thrown out, donated, shredded, sold, packed, stored, vacuumed, sorted, and fought.  We know that this move, to Arlington, is better for our family, and that is what is keeping us going.  I was beyond overwhelmed 10 days ago, even 5 days ago, and tonight, I can finally sit and enjoy the Olympics without having to multitask.  When I made my organizational goal, I didn’t think I’d do it twice, in two different houses.  (Big picture, big picture, big picture)

 

To say things are crazy is an understatement.  We’ve talked about this move for months, and to have it facing us (slightly dauntingly) is emotional.  This was a dream and now it’s coming true.  We are looking forward to living so close to our families (and free babysitters) and most importantly, cutting Matt’s commute in half.  We are going to miss the life we’ve built here, our neighbors, the events in the neighborhood, my co-workers, and our first home.

 

Hopefully, I can keep you up-to-date with how our move goes, and once we’ve moved, on our lives.

 

Leave a Reply

