itssnotthetruth

Keeping it real

Game Over April 15, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — It's Snot the Truth @ 10:38 PM
Tags:

I DID IT!!!!!

I tried to sleep well on Friday night, but that didn’t turn out very well.  I woke up at 6 on Saturday morning with a stomach full of butterflies.  I could barely feel my toes by the time the race started (although I’m not sure if that was nerves or the colder temperature).  The second I picked up my foot to start, I was in my zone to get to the finish line.  I didn’t have anyone to run with, but when there are nearly 2,000 other runners including 6 and 7 years-old, you get pretty motivated to keep going.  I had read an article about breaking the race into 4 parts, each mile and the final 0.1 mile; I did this, and all of a sudden, I was looking at the official time clock at the finish line.

I had a few goals for the 5k, but nothing terribly difficult.  I wanted to finish (check).  I wanted to run the entire thing (almost check, only walked 2/10 mile).  I thought I could finish in under 45 minutes (38:13!, check!).  And finally, I was rewarding myself after the run with a mimosa and a pedicure (done and done).

I’m not sure I would call myself a runner per say, but I am really enjoying running and what it has added (or subtracted) to my life.  I am incredibly proud of myself, and am looking forward to finding my next 5k.

 

Leave a Reply

