itssnotthetruth

Keeping it real

Fudge Mania January 31, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — It's Snot the Truth @ 10:57 PM
Tags: , , ,

Did you read that book?  Not only did I read it, I heard it.  We listened to it more times than I care to remember.  In a time before built-in DVD players, my parents used books on tape to entertain us while we drove to the Lake (approximately a 7 hour drive) or to Maine (normally done over 2 days).  I can’t remember all the books we listened to, but we killed each tape.  To this day, I can’t listen to a book on tape (or PodCast) without falling asleep.

Books are one of my things.  I can’t remember every book I’ve read, but I’m sure I’ve learned something from each one.  I read books at a young age that were well beyond my years.  I become fully engrossed in a book, maybe sometimes a little too much.  I don’t like non-fiction, science-fiction, or fantasy books, although I have read at least one of each.  I read to escape.

My dad and I read a book together when I was 11-years old.  I can’t remember the title, but I remember the feeling I got each night reading with my dad.  One time, I read a book that he had read when he was a child, and we would compare notes about the book.  Books bring me closer to people, and yet, keep me away from them too.  I missed countless hikes, blueberry picks, tennis games, and mud throws.

For Christmas 2010, Santa gave me a Kindle.  I LOVE MY KINDLE!!!  It was hard for me to keep reading since books aren’t small and compact.  I took no less than 6 books on our honeymoon to Hawaii; that takes up a lot of space in a suitcase.  The Kindle is smaller than a magazine and holds countless books, magazines, or pdfs.  My Kindle has saved my reading career.

I hope to spread my love of reading to Annie (and any siblings she might have).  All of my books are on a huge bookcase in her playroom, and we have started a small collection of some of the classics (Good Night Moon, Where the Wild Things Are, etc.).  She already loves to flip through books and magazines.

 

Today was the beginning of a new training session with Trey and Mary.  We’ll see how my muscles feel in the morning.  I’m hoping the running is easier tomorrow than it was on Monday.  Work is short-staffed, so I have volunteered to work longer hours and an extra day.  I am not excited about this.  Plus I need to find a dress for the Living Social Oscar’s (not on Oscar night), a black-tie event.  I feel good, but overwhelmed, and that’s when I, in the past, have gotten down on life.

 

Leave a Reply

