itssnotthetruth

Keeping it real

Shepard’s Pie January 17, 2012

Filed under: Recipes — It's Snot the Truth @ 9:40 PM
Tags: , , , , , ,

Many of us remember Shepard’s Pie from our childhood.  We always had it after Easter with yummy leftover lamb chunks.  I have made the pie several times since Matt and I have been together, mostly with ground beef.  We’ve had it with peas, green beans, carrots, corn; any vegetable will do.  I’ve never topped it with anything but mashed potatoes, but I imagine, mashed cauliflower or sweet potatoes are just as good.  Tonight’s version I found on Pinterest (again, if you’d like an invite, comment below).  The particular pin is from a tumblr blog, Under 400, an entire blog of recipes under 400 calories.  Here’s the recipe: http://under400.tumblr.com/post/3252310632/weight-watchers-shepherds-pie-2-large  I added peas to the meat mixture (primarily since Annie loves peas).

We had a salad (we use mostly mixed greens, and sometimes add Craisins) with Mom’s dressing on it.  I call it idiot dressing, she finds this insulting.

Mix 1 Tbls. Dijon Mustard with

3 Tbls. white wine vinegar and

a dash of salt then

emulsify 3/4 C olive oil in.

I just checked my Pinterest board for all the recipes I’ve made.  I was going to put them all in this post, but then I’ll have nothing to write about in other recipe posts.  I made Bolognese last week, http://www.ezrapoundcake.com/archives/17560. I also made stacked enchiladas last week, http://www.perrysplate.com/2011/03/stacked-roasted-vegetable-enchiladas.html; we topped it with avocado.  This pasta dish was very popular in our house (as is most pasta dishes), http://www.savingmoneylivinglife.com/2010/06/chicken-spinach-pasta-bake.html.

I made this for our cookie party before Christmas, and they were a huge hit, http://www.plainchicken.com/2011/09/ile-de-france-cheese-baked-brie-bites.html.  I hope many of these recipes make their way to your dinner tables; none of them have been hard.  I hope to start including more recipes.

 

I have a cold, meaning I woke up with my mouth wide open and extremely dry.  I hate that.  Plus it was raining this morning.  Getting out of bed was about as important as going to work today.  Finally, I found an ounce of energy to get to the gym to see Trey and Mary.  The thought of doing much of anything (besides the requisite grocery trip) was completely unattractive today.  Tomorrow might be better.

 

One Response to “Shepard’s Pie”

  1. Marie Says:

    I will never eat that without thinking of The Aubry family 🙂 i have such fond memories of those dinners. xoxoxoxo


Leave a Reply

