itssnotthetruth

Keeping it real

Simply the Best January 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — It's Snot the Truth @ 9:04 PM
Tags: , ,

(Remember that show????)

I’m going to write about one sister at a time, otherwise I might take up the entire internet.  I have two sisters.  I am the oldest.  I am insanely proud to be their sister.  If they admire me a tenth of how much I admire them, I am a happy person.  Today, Robin.  (BTW, in no way does the order in which I write about my sisters reflect my love for them)

Robin is the baby (that bothers her, she prefers youngest), and she will always be the first baby I ever took care of.  As embarrassing as it is, I changed her diapers.  Robin was born on Christmas Day, and she was the best present Santa brought me that year.  Year after year, Robin put up with concerts, parties, girl scout meetings, soccer games, and graduations.  In 2008, I think Robin had 20 family members celebrating her high school graduation.

Robin will be starting her final semester of college tomorrow.  She will be graduating college before me.  I’m so excited for her, I practically made my hotel reservation during her freshman year.  There are some moments in life, at least recently, where I forget that Robin is 7 years younger than me.  Robin is smart (some might call her a genius, but not Matt), genuine, loving, funny, and insightful.  I admire Robin’s assertiveness, dedication, and passion.  I love you.

 

Today, I started week 2 of running.  This week it’s 90 seconds of running then 2 minutes of walking.  I can do this.  I saw the psychiatrist today.  Her first question was “why are you here?”  She sat and listened for almost 50 minutes, occasionally asking for gaps filled in my talking.  I cried, I laughed, I spilled my guts about the last 2 years.  A weight has been lifted, and I feel extremely better.  When she asked about my family mental history, I was amazed about how much I knew about it.  For whatever reason, depression is taboo.  There is no reason why any depressed person should suffer alone.  I am lucky enough to have a support team (my parents, sisters, my husband, Annie, my friends).  I am looking forward to sunnier days ahead.

 

One Response to “Simply the Best”

  1. Amy Says:

    Have you ever read dooce.com? It’s one of my all-time favorite blogs and she extensively covers her struggles with depression, how it affected her life and relationships and how it caused her to check herself into a hospital after the birth of her first daughter. I have her book, too, if you want to check it out.


Leave a Reply

