itssnotthetruth

Keeping it real

Mad About You January 11, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — It's Snot the Truth @ 9:59 PM
Tags: ,

I didn’t marry the man of my dreams.  I married the man closest to my dream man.  He’s not perfect.  I’m not perfect.  We do have a pretty perfect kid though.  I wanted to take a minute (or 500 words) to tell you about my fabulous husband.

 

Matt and I went to McKinley Elementary School; he started in 1986, me in 1988.  We never had the same teacher, but we do like to compare notes on the rumors about each teacher.  I remember checking books out of the library, and thanking Mrs. A, not knowing one day she would be my mother-in-law.  Mrs. A and my mom used to volunteer on school activities together, and I remember always hearing about Matt and what he was doing through the years.  We went to different middle and high schools, but my friend L went to the same schools with Matt, and somehow kept in contact.

Matt went to George Mason University.  My friend A and I used to go visit him, go to Fruddrucker’s, and meet his frat brothers.  I moved away when I finally graduated high school, and to be honest, my contact with Matt was limited.  Matt was always at whatever party we had when I’d come home to visit.  He always played Wednesday night basketball at McKinley, and was usually guarding my dad.  In the fall of 2004, Matt went through a particular tough break-up with some girl, and I was going through a pretty hard time in my life.  We leaned on each other through IMs (omg, I’m dating myself).  My day wasn’t complete until I could chat with Matt, and I always seem to go to bed with a smile on my face.

I was visiting NYC with my sisters, when they pointed out that I was clearly madly in love with Matt.  Nothing could have been farther from the truth.  It was a few weeks later that I kissed Matt on that back balcony at Dr. Dremo’s.  Matt proposed in the Luxor Hotel in Las Vegas December 19, 2006.  We were married at Nodaway August 2, 2008. 

 

No matter my struggles with my weight, or my indecision about my “grown-up” job, or the stupidity of the sister fights, Matt loves me.  Matt thinks I’m beautiful and sexy, even after I hadn’t showered in 48 hours and just come out of surgery after Annie’s birth.  Matt still cuddles me after I hit him for snoring.  Matt brings me flowers and fruit gummies.  Matt loves me.  I love you.

 

I’m exhausted.  I was lacking in motivation this morning, could barely drag myself out of bed.  I even had to wake Annie up.  Day 2 of the running, and I’m still standing.  Tomorrow, I’m spending a final day with Robin before she goes back to college.  I’m having a pretty good week.

 

Leave a Reply

