itssnotthetruth

Keeping it real

Let’s Weigh the Options January 9, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — It's Snot the Truth @ 10:43 PM
Tags:

The last time I would be considered skinny was when I was 6.  Until I was faced with the idea of wearing a gorgeous white dress in front of 135 of my nearest and dearest, I was pretty comfortable with my body.  Sure, I knew I was overweight.  I wouldn’t say I was self-conscious or proud, but I had adapted my life to fit the body I had.

On July 17, 2006, I joined Weight Watchers.  I weighed 197 pounds.  I was engaged, and had just spent a week fully engrossed in wedding planning.  I had a free gym membership through the school I was teaching at.  I spent 5 days a week using the cardio machines at school.  On Saturday mornings I would use our apartment “gym” before heading to my weekly weigh-in and meeting.  I counted points, ate tuna for lunch for a year, and had a weekly margarita at girl’s night.  I was devoted and motivated.  I lost 35 pounds over 18 months.  I was exhausted.

About a month before our first wedding anniversary, we decided that we wanted to start our family (ok, that’s sugar coated.  I finally had convinced Matt that we should have a baby).  In a year of marriage, I had stepped into a gym about 15 times, at best.  When I got pregnant in February (yes, Annie is a snowstorm 2010 baby), I weighed about 200 pounds.  I gained about 20 pounds while pregnant; Annie weighed 9 pounds 4 ounces when she was born.  Sometime during my pregnancy, Matt realized that he wanted to be around to watch his little girl for many, many years to come.  By the time Annie was born, Matt had lost 20 pounds.  What husband loses weight while his wife is pregnant????  MINE!!!!

Matt lost 100 pounds in a year.  I rejoined Weight Watchers April 9, 2011.  I weighed 200 pounds.  For almost 2 months, I weighed either 196 or 200 pounds each week.  To say I was frustrated is the understatement of the century.  Sometime in June, my body got the idea; I finally saw 194 on the scale.  I wasn’t very good about going to the gym, nor was I very good about watching my diet (liquid diet as well) during the summer.  For the first time in my life, I was completely self-conscious about my body.  My weight weighed heavily on my daily life.  I weighed 194 pounds until the week before Thanksgiving, and then I finally saw 192.  I decided I was going to break 190 by Christmas; I did it the next week.

I started my running program today.  I found the couch to 5k program, and it conveniently has a (free!) app for my phone.  There was a wonderful British woman who spoke over my music (because who works out without music?).  The program is for 3 days a week, 30 minutes each day.  Today, I walked for a 5 minute warm-up, then for 20 minutes alternated 60 seconds of jogging then 90 seconds of walking, finishing with a 5 minute cool-down.  I did it.  It wasn’t as bad as running has been for me in the past.  I can do this.  I will do this.

 

One Response to “Let’s Weigh the Options”

  1. Carolyn Herr Watts Says:

    good for YOU! i lost 25 pounds 2 years ago and have kept it off. now i’m ready to do it again. you’re wonderful and so inspirational. look forward to more posts!!!!


Leave a Reply

