itssnotthetruth

Keeping it real

I am Sam, Sam I Am January 4, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — It's Snot the Truth @ 9:52 PM
Tags: , , , ,

I haven’t filled out that About Me section because, frankly, there’s too much to write.  In the most basic answer, I am Kate.  I am a daughter, sister, granddaughter, and cousin.  I am a wife and mother.  I am a substitute teacher.  I am a friend.

Each of these “titles” has it’s more complex meanings.  I am proud of all the hats I wear, and I take them each very seriously.  I am the most loyal friend you’ll ever have; I can’t phase anyone out.  I cannot physically go a day without talking (texting counts) with one of my sisters (even when we FIGHT) or my mom.  I cry every time my daddy tells me he loves me.  When Matt travels for work, I sleep with my cellphone because it’s like he’s next to me in bed.  The best part of any day is when Annie comes running with her arms outstretched and smiling.  My life would crumble without these people.

For as many women who are already in my life, I seem to continue to surround myself with more.  I have a core group of women who I love to drink with, gossip with, and get pedicures with.  I’ve known L since kindergarten, if you didn’t do the math, that’s 25 years.  I’ve known A, A, and F since my sophomore year in high school, that’s 13 years.  As a side note, A and Matt went to freshman homecoming together, and the other A was Matt’s prom date.  These women know a lot.  I know a lot.

At a very young age, I knew that I’d spend my life teaching children, and not just my own.  I have approximately 29 female co-workers.  As catty and bitchy as we are, I trust them to care for Annie, for advice in parenting and marriage, and for someone to share a bottle of wine with.

Running program starts Monday.  Updates will be posted.  My BBFs, Trey and Mary, made me hurt yesterday, and I am not looking forward to the beating I’ll be getting tomorrow.  150.  150.  150.  I work hard to get to the gym at least 5 days a week.  Even though Annie is downstairs at the Kids Klub and I’m working out, it is 45 minutes to myself.  My day is darker on days when I don’t get to the gym.

Today was a good day.

 

Leave a Reply

